Friday, July 22, 2016

2016 Burr Worzolla Award Winners Announced

John Coy is honored for his children's book, Game Changer: John McLendon and the Secret Game.  The Children’s Book Award Committee of the Wisconsin Library Association’s (WLA) Youth Services Section annually presents the Burr/Worzalla to the most distinguished work in literature written and/or illustrated by a Wisconsin book creator. John Coy grew up in Eau Claire, Wisconsin and currently resides in Minnesota.

Through riveting and illustrative prose, John Coy chronicles the fascinating true story of the secret basketball game played in Durham, North Carolina in 1944 between the all-white Duke University Medical School team and the all-black team from the North Carolina College of Negroes, led by legendary coach John McLendon. Set during a time of segregation, Coy movingly tells of this daring match-up and deftly depicts the courage and sportsmanship of players and coaches alike as they confronted a social taboo through a simple game of basketball. This seemingly small but daring step toward integration and equality provides a fascinating glimpse into the future of this beloved game.

The Children’s Book Award Committee also named Dori Chaconas Notable Author for her contribution to the world of children’s literature. Seven noteworthy titles have also been selected for Outstanding Achievement in children’s literature, written and/or illustrated by Wisconsin Book creators:

  • Archie the Daredevil Penguin by Andy Rash
  • Bee Dance by Rick Chrustowski
  • Catch You Later, Traitor by Avi
  • Granddaddy's Turn: A Journey to the Ballot Box by Michael S. Bandy and Eric Stein; illustrated by James E. Ransome
  • In Mary's Garden by Tina & Carson Kügler
  • Lizard Radio by Pat Schmatz
  • Waiting by Kevin Henkes

The Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award is made possible by the Worzalla Publishing Company, Stevens Point, through a grant to the WLA Foundation.

For more information about the Children’s Book Awards Committee, visit  WLA is a professional organization representing all types of libraries – school, public, academic and special. Its membership comprises 1,500 librarians and support staff, library trustees, friends of libraries, and business vendors who advocate and work for the improvement of library services for all Wisconsin citizens.

No comments: